7th May 2016 AUTHOR: dwhite CATEGORIES: Event Report

Summer League Race 2 Summary (Sproatley 6)

Summer League hots up in sun-drenched Sproatley

Phil McCoy - Sproatley 6 2016The Summer League made the first of its two annual trips to the rural splendour of Sproatley, with another impressive turn-out gathering at the Constable Arms ahead of the 6 mile chase through the idyllic Holderness settings.

The weather was kind yet again, with the late evening sun and light breeze making conditions perfect for fast times. 213 runners lined up at the gable end of Tradesman’s Row, ready to charge down Pasture Lane and through much of Constable Estate.

With Steve Bateson having marginally pipped the marathon-tired legs of Mike Hargreaves in Race 1, and with other contenders perhaps still recovering from some tough endeavours at the weekend, smart money was on this being the main battle at the head of the field yet again, and so it proved. Bateson continued to demonstrate steely determination and pace against some top class runners, placing first in 31:30.

Hargreaves took second spot for the second race in a row, with Gregan Clarkson representing the growing KuH contingent in style in third place.

Linda Douglas handicap leader flanked by Tony Goulding
Linda Douglas handicap leader flanked by Tony Goulding

First lady home was the indomitable Carla Stansfield, finishing two and a half minutes ahead of Sara Rookyard, herself quickly returning to form. Kerry Young took third, making up an identical 1,2,3 to the New Ellerby event.

Notable mentions this week to Vince McGowan, who, after having impressed in race 1, made the most of the ‘3-Peaks’ tired legs of Matthew Hayes, taking the V40 stakes ahead of the EHH captain. Bridlington RR provided their second junior mens winner in two races, with Josh Taylor finishing in a creditable 31st spot overall. Linda Douglas heads up the handicap league, followed closely by Julie Roebuck and Gary Fee.

Next up is the popular East Park 4 mile, with many hoping to translate their Park Run know-how to the moderately longer course.

Race Results:

  • 1st – Steve Bateson (EHH)
  • 2nd – Mike Hargreaves (EHH)
  • 3rd – Gregan Clarkson (KuH)
  • 1st Lady – Carla Stansfield (CoH)
  • 2nd Lady – Sara Rookyard (EHH)
  • 3rd Lady – Kerry Young (EHH)
  • 1st Handicap – Kirsten Porter (BRR)
  • 2nd Handicap – Laura Gunstead (EHH)
  • 3rd Handicap – Patrick Walker (CoH)

Other Prizes:

  • M45 Nigel Sisson (EHH)
  • M40 Vince McGowan (EHH)
  • M50 Darren Edge (Bev)
  • M60 Stephen Rennie (CoH)
  • M55 Ian Grewer (EHH)
  • JM Josh Taylor (BRR)
  • F45 Sara Morrow (KuH)
  • F50 Jan Suddaby (EHH)
  • F40 Carole Fee F40 (EHH)
  • F60+ Shirley Oglesby (BRR)
  • M65+ Peter Taylor (CoH)
  • F35 Emma Artley (BRR)
  • F55 Ann Frost (EHH)

Tony Cross


Full results and handicap standings: http://easthullharriers.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/ehh-summer-league-2016-r2.xls

Submit a comment