22nd May 2016 AUTHOR: dwhite CATEGORIES: Event Report

Summer League Race 3 Summary (East Park 4)

Mike Hargreaves - 1st place in 20:42
Mike Hargreaves – 1st place in 20:42

After threatening to break Steve Bateson’s stranglehold at the top of the EHH pile over the previous two races, Mike Hargreaves took home the bragging rights following yet another strong race in the familiar surroundings of East Park in round 3 of the EHH Summer League.

Finishing 11 seconds clear of Bateson, and 33 clear of third placed Gregan Clarkson, Hargreaves showed he is fully recovered after his marathon exploits, and will be very tough to beat as we approach the halfway point of this year’s league.

Carla Stansfield - 1st lady in 23:31
Carla Stansfield – 1st lady in 23:31

For the third race on the bounce, the top three ladies were Carla Stansfield, warming up nicely ahead of her appearance in the elite ladies field at the Manchester 10km, Sara Rookyard and Kerrie Young. It was also great to see Ellie Mann following in the footsteps of her mum, taking the junior ladies prize and also finishing 37th out of 73 finishers in the ladies race overall.
Elsewhere, Kirsten Porter took maximum points for the second time in the Handicap, cementing her place at the top of the league, 9 points clear of Linda Douglas. Paul Bennett was a new name on the prize list, taking home the v40 spoils after competing at the Derwent Dash the weekend before, recording a rapid 24:17 and 20th spot overall.

Well done to EHH and CoH, taking the men’s and ladies team prizes respectively.

As is now customary, the race was preceded by the increasingly popular junior race, with a fantastic 163 eager young runners turning out and competing for themselves and their school. Congratulations to Josh Hood, who won the race in 7mins 25secs, 12 seconds ahead of Kyle Richardson, who shaded second place a mere 4 seconds ahead of Kiain Wiles. Katy Greenacre took the girls race in 9mins 11secs, with Marina Paunova and Chloe Wilson taking second and third. Congratulations to all who took part, and to St Mary’s for taking home the team prize!


  • Mike Hargreaves EHH 1st M
  • Steve Bateson EHH 2nd M
  • Gregan Clarkson KuH 3rd M
  • Carla Stansfield CoH 1st F
  • Sara Rookyard EHH 2nd F
  • Kerry Young EHH 3rd F
  • Emma Artley BRR F35
  • Paul Bennett EHH M40
  • Kirsty Wilson EHH F40
  • Nigel Sisson EHH M45
  • Sara Morrow KuH F45
  • Darren Edge Bev M50
  • Jan Suddaby EHH F50
  • Lance Kirlew EHH M55
  • Ann Allen EHH F55
  • Stephen Rennie CoH M60
  • Shirley Oglesby EHH F60+
  • Peter Taylor CoH M65+
  • Josh Taylor BRR JM
  • Ellie Mann U/A JF


Full results and handicap standings:

Submit a comment