22nd June 2016 AUTHOR: dwhite CATEGORIES: Event Report

EHH Prize Presentation 13th May 2016

So, Friday 13th?  Why not, we have nothing to fear from superstitions.   A great turnout this year with many new members encouraged to attend and making for a fantastic atmosphere.   Pete Dearing did his usual sterling job of collating all results and prize winners, backed up with statistics old and new. He even found my name among the ancient hieroglyphics on one trophy!

Keith Conkerton receiving the Ron Kemp trophy as overall Men's WInter League Champion from the man himself
Keith Conkerton receiving the Ron Kemp trophy as overall Men’s WInter League Champion from the man himself

We all owe Pete a vote of thanks for the work he does to make the event go as smoothly as it does, both before and on the night itself, as well as Matty and Ali for selling tickets to ensure the room was full. From where I was standing I can honestly say that was the best turnout for some years so thanks to all who attended and let’s make it even bigger next year.

Carol Wolstenholme made a great guest presenter (along with our marathon record holder Peter Flatman) and I think it is safe to say Carol is mightily impressed with the current high levels of enthusiasm and team spirit at Harriers.   It was great to see a number of newer members picking up trophies and medals, and some really worthy recipients of ‘most improved  athlete’ trophies. The fact these are both being shared is indicative of the strong progress being made by so many of our members, so keep it up and whether you are ‘suicide squad’ or ‘plodder’ your improvements will be noticed. Maybe one day someone will get closer to Peter’s record?

Shirley Oglesby, Ladies Winter League Champion 2016
Shirley Oglesby, Ladies Winter League Champion receiving the Jeanette Wilson Trophy from the legendary Carol Wolstenholme

Mark Starkey provided his usual excellent disco, enabling the equally excellent hog roast to be ‘danced off’. On the subject of dancing, Kirsty Wilson stole the show with her athleticism and dance moves but had plenty of company out there and now the challenge is ‘beat that’!

Thanks to your generosity the raffle made over £200 for the club and I already know how the prize allocation can be improved upon for next year. A learning experience….

As we were going on holiday the following day, the photos were published online late on the Friday night (thanks to Angela for convincing me to do it!). I made sure all prize winners were included once in the Facebook album, although sometimes it was a tricky choice for you multiple winners out there!   Feel free to save or copy them, but if anyone wants a higher quality image just email or message me and I’ll sort it for you.

Richard Alsop

For the rest of the images please visit: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=oa.10153608514048587&type=1

Trophy and Medal Winners 2015/16

Mens 3 Mile November Handicap

1st Paul Nippress Time   31.47 George Smith Trophy
2nd Alec Gibson Time 32.53
3rd Keith Conkerton Time 32.55
Fastest Time: Alec Gibson Time 16.53 Miniature cup

Ladies 3 Mile November Handicap

1st Kristina Gadie Time 32.36 Peter Collinson Trophy
2nd Shirley Oglesby Time 33.40
3rd Sheila Maddison Time 34.01

Fastest Time: Beverley Jackson Time 21.54 Miniature cup

Christmas Handicap

1st H’cap Male Stuart Carmichael Les Ward Swift Trophy
1st H’cap Female Jayne Earle Jeanette Wilson Trophy
Mens Fastest Time Alec Gibson    31.18 Jack Prethero Trophy
Female Fastest Time: Beverley Jackson   47.53 Dolly Cup

Boxing Day Run

1st East Hull Finisher: Alec Gibson Time 34.38 John Day Trophy

Mens Club  Championship: 8 Miles

3rd Matthew Hayes Time 51.00
2nd Nigel Sisson Time 50.54
1st Alec Gibson Time 49.37 Members Cup

Mens Veteran Club Championship: 8 Miles

3rd Eddie Rex Time 55.57
2nd Matthew Hayes Time 51.00
1st Nigel Sisson Time 50.54
Handicap Winner: Brian Jones Dick Dobson Trophy
1st New Member Robert Weekes Joe Bullamore Cup

Ladies Club Championship: 4 Miles

3rd Katie Seddon Time 31.36 Dick Dobson Cup
2nd Sara Rookyard Time 28.36
1st Beverley Jackson Time 27.36

1st New Member

Katie Seddon New Members Cup

Riverbank 6 Mile

1st Handicap M/F Lewis Beecher Trevor Wharf Memorial Trophy

Brantingham Hill Race

1st EHH Male Nigel Sisson Time: 49.36
1st EHH Lady Kerry Young Time: 61.58
1st H’cap Male Steve Poulsom
1st H’cap Female Kadi Huart

Winter League Men

3rd Nigel Sisson Points 108
2nd Paul Nippress Points 109
1st Keith Conkerton Points 125 Ron Kemp Trophy

Winter League Ladies

3rd Ann Allen Points 123
2nd Katie Seddon Points 128
1st Shirley Oglesby Points 134 Jeanette Wilson Trophy

Mens 20 Mile Championship

1st Mike Hargreaves Time 1.51.52 Mike Avenell Trophy
2nd Stuart Carmichael Time 1.59.38
3rd Robert Weekes Time 2.03.58

Mens 20 Mile Veteran Championship

1st Stuart Carmichael Time 1.59.38 Eddie Kirkup Cup
2nd Andrew Watson Time 2.21.41
3rd Adrian Kamis Time 2.23.22

Ladies 20 Mile Championship

1st Sara Rookyard Time 2.20.17 Annandale Shield
2nd Carole Fee Time 2.34.02
3rd Kirsty Wilson Time 2.37.35

Ladies 20 Mile Veteran Championship

1st Sara Rookyard Time 2.20.17 Veteran Shield
2nd Carole Fee Time 2.34.02
3rd Kirsty Wilson Time 2.37.35

Men’s Marathon Champion

Matthew Hayes Time 2.48.04 Phil Grayson Trophy

Ladies Marathon Champion

Sara Rookyard Time 3.06.48 Marathon Trophy

Most Improved Male Athlete

  • Neil Seddon & Wayne Martindale

Most Improved Female Athlete

  • Kadi Huart & Katie Seddon

Submit a comment